Canada Assembly & Dinner


30 JULY 2020

Hotel Arts, Calgary

What is Canada Assembly & Dinner?

Canada Assembly is a half day packed with energy transition and renewables discussions, D&I and capital raising – the biggest trends driving Canadian energy industry today.

Every year, the Awards Dinner attracts 350+ industry leaders to celebrate the Lifetime Achievements of one of their colleagues. In 2020, we will be celebrating Mike Rose, President & Chief Executive Officer of Tourmaline Oil Corp. We will also be awarding winners in the following two categories D&I Champion of the Year and Energy Transition.

Tier 1 Premium Tables are now Sold Out – book a Tier 2 table or Dinner Ticket today before they sell out.

New date announced

Following the global outbreak of COVID-19 we made the decision to re-schedule the 2020 Canada Assembly. We are pleased to let you know that the Assembly will now be taking place on 30 July 2020 in Calgary at Hotel Arts.

Please feel free to get in touch with Alexandra Ashikhmina should you have any questions.

Please note that we continue to monitor the latest public health and government advice in relation to COVID-19 for each of our markets around the world and acting in accordance with government and public health advice and World Health Organisation (“WHO”) guidelines. We remain committed to delivering our events in a safe environment.


Heather Culbert

Heather Culbert

Board of Directors, Whitecap Resources

Dan Balaban

Dan Balaban

Founder, President & CEO, Greengate Power

Ian Dundas

Ian Dundas

President & CEO, Enerplus

Kevin Kynoch

Kevin Kynoch

Managing Director – Energy Group, ATB Financial

Mike Rose

Mike Rose

President & CEO, Tourmaline Oil Corp

Peter Tertzakian

Peter Tertzakian

Chief Energy Economist & Managing Director, ARC Financial Corp

Mona Jasinski

Mona Jasinski

Executive Vice President, People and Culture, Vermilion Energy

Thomas McInerney

Thomas McInerney

Partner, Bennett Jones SLP

Ryan Smith

Ryan Smith

CEO, 360 Energy Liability Management

Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas

Managing Director & Head - Energy, Prudential Capital Group

Adam Waterous

Adam Waterous

CEO, Waterous Energy Fund

Agenda at a Glance

Thursday 30 July 2020

12:00 Registration & Networking

12:25 Welcome Remarks

  • Alexandra Ashikhmina, MD – Americas, Energy Council & President, Women’s Energy Council

12:30 Opening Keynote: Looking Forward to the Energy Company of 2025

  • Peter Tertzakian, Chief Energy Economist & Managing Director, ARC Financial Corp

12:45 Energy Transition in Canada
What does energy transition mean in Canada? Success stories of technology adoption, sustainable operations and cooperation with renewables companies from oil and gas operators. Breaking down energy transition’s biggest challenges. What can the oil and gas industry learn from renewables? What do service companies do to adapt?

13:25 Opportunities in Renewables Projects Across Canada
How can E&Ps benefit from working with renewables companies? Regulatory hurdles. Top solar/wind opportunities in Canada.

  • Dan Balaban, Founder, President & CEO, Greengate Power
  • Marc Stachiw, President, Alberta Wind Energy Corporation
  • Bruce Kolesnik, Senior Development Manager, EDF Renewables

14:05 Best Practices for Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG)
What can Canadian O&G Companies do Manage Their Abandonment Liability, Reduce Their Carbon Footprint, and Increase the Sustainability of their Operations.

  • Moderator: Thomas McInerney, Partner, Bennett Jones SLP
  • Ryan Smith, CEO, 360 Energy Liability Management

14:45 Networking Break

15:15 Practical D&I Developments that Make the Biggest Positive Change

  • Heather Culbert, Board of Directors, Whitecap Resources
  • Mona Jasinski, Executive Vice President, People and Culture, Vermilion Energy
  • Ian Dundas, President & CEO, Enerplus

16:05 Financing and Investment Strategies in Canadian O&G and Energy

  • Moderator: Kevin Kynoch, Managing Director, ATB Corporate Financial Services
  • Adam Waterous, CEO, Waterous Energy Fund
  • Brian Thomas, Managing Director – Oil & Gas, Prudential Capital Group
  • Mike Rose, President & CEO, Tourmaline Oil Corp

17:00 Drinks Reception

18:30 Call to Dinner

19:20 D&I Champion of the Year Award

19:30 Energy Transition Award

20:30 Lifetime Achievement Award Ceremony for Mike Rose

21:15 End of Dinner


Register for 2020


Awards Dinner

Our Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates the triumphs and successes of those who have made a true difference to the Canadian oil and gas industry and local communities. They are responsible for pioneering new frontiers, pushing boundaries, inspiring others and achieving growth in challenging markets whilst always giving back to communities. They inspire us.

We’re pleased to announce the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Recipient is Mike Rose, President & CEO of Tourmaline Oil Corp

We will also be celebrating the achievements of a winner in each of the following categories. 

D&I Champion of the Year
This award will celebrate an individual who have made a significant positive change to Diversity & Inclusion in energy industry in Canada, an advocate for change and equality and who have been a driving force for best D&I practices inside and outside their business

Energy Transition Award
This award will celebrate a company that turned energy transition into an opportunity. Criteria includes embracing sustainable operations, innovation, reducing carbon footprint and making a positive impact on local environment/community

Previous Award Winners

Meet John Dielwart, our 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Meet Adam Waterous, our 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Meet Jim Davidson & Brett Wilson, our 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Meet Mike Tims, our 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient


Hotel Arts

119 12 Ave SW, Calgary, AB T2R 0G8, Canada

Find out more here: 

Event Name

Contact Us

Alexandra Ashikhimina

Alexandra Ashikhimina

Managing Director, Americas

Speaking Enquiries Tel: +44 20 7384 7702

Tim Pawul

Tim Pawul

SVP – Corporate Development, Americas

Sponsorship Enquiries Tel: +1 631-891-8414

Melanie Richards

Melanie Richards

Marketing Manager

Marketing Enquiries Tel: + 44 207 384 8060

TJ Murphy

TJ Murphy

VP Corporate Partnership Development

Sponsorship Enquires
Tel: +1 312 667 1541